The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leaders run the world. We have always come across great leaders, who have had the audacity to break through the shackles of difficulty and make it into the world of progress. And our society needs more of such leaders to be made. Therefore, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in various fields is by instilling in them a sense of coöperation, not competition.

The making of a great leader is a lot of chore. The society not only needs to instill certain traits in a budding leader, but also needs to have an eye, to recognise and work upon it. Cooperation is one such trait, that is very important for a leader to have. As we know, the leader is the one who leads the followers. A leader must be cooperative in order gain the goodwill of the followers. Without a really strong support one can never lead a group successfully.

Let us consider, the previous president of the United States, Barack Obama, for instance. He was one such luminous and cooperative, personality. He would listen to his followers and subordinates , and would work with them to get a job done. Likewise, a leader can never be successful without the followers. Leadership is not only about leading and giving orders. It is also about about everyone's views and thoughts and listening to them carefully before progressing. This is what coöperation means and the society must work upon it to get better leaders.

Leadership is not just about an individual, it is about holding the pack together and proceeding. Such a thing can never be fully achieved solely by competition. Being competitive, will always create and image of defeating an opponent in some field and not thinking about the group . A leader have emotional intelligence, command, wit, courage and what not. Such traits can never be instilled just by competition. And even if it does, would be on the negative side of such traits.

On the other a hand, a hint of competition is surely needed to accelerate the growth. A positive competition creates motivation to work harder and smarter to excel. Mr. Obama. as mentioned earlier is definitely a cooperative person, but added to that he is also competitive in his field. Such a positive competition has helped him in progressing better.

Thus we can clearly conclude that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in various fields is definitely achievable by instilling in them a sense of coöperation, but a hint of competition is also healthy.