The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good qualify are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

A greater share of Super Screen's budget being allocated to advertising could be a very beneficial move in order to increase viewings of its movies. However, before that decision can be made, it is important to answer some questions about the company and other factors that may influence viewings and ratings. Increasing knowledge of the movie review process, the content of the movies, and outside factors may help the company to decide how to best to allocate its budget in the upcoming year.

First, knowing more about the process of reviews may help explain the dilemma of high review score and low viewings. For example, the demographic information of the reviewers may influence the scores of the reviews, creating an false expectation for movie-goers. Additionally, knowing what is inspected during a movie review may be crucial information. If the reviewers are more interested in the cinematography, camera work, or costumes, while the audience is more interested in the actors or the story line, this may also lead to a difference in review scores and viewing numbers. Understanding who the target audience is and whether the reviewers are writing for the target audience may also play a role in the difficulty facing Super Screen. Ultimately, knowing the reviewers, the review process, and the target audience may play an important role in uncovering the reasoning behind this number difference.

Second, the content of the movies are a factor to take into consideration when trying to solve the mystery of lack of views. If the movies are sequels or a continuation in a series, movie goers may be tired of them or wait until the movies are released to watch at home. Additionally, the release time may impact the number of views. For example, if the movies are mostly children's movies and they are released during busy times, parents may not have time to take their children to go see a movie. Similarly, it would probably be better to release a romantic comedy rather than a violent action movie close to Valentine's Day. Knowing the content of the movies and the timing of the release dates may also be important in increasing the viewings of the movies.

Finally, there may be outside factors that lead to less views, even if all the reviews are extremely positive. If the economy is suffering, people may be less likely to spend money on movie tickets, as they tend to be fairly expensive. Additionally, companies like Netflix and Redbox may encourage viewers to wait until the movies are released to watch at home. What others movies are released near to Super Screen's movies may also influence the number of viewings. If there is a largely anticipated release of another company's movie, and Super Screen releases a movie at the same time, it is less likely for movie goers to see it, even if the reviews are positive.

In conclusion, knowing more about the review process, the content of the movies, and outside factors may all lead to a greater understanding of movies having positive reviews yet low attendance. Depending on the answers to these questions, increasing the advertising budget may be helpful to increase the attendance of Super Screen's movies. However, there may be other explanations that could have easy fixes, by adjusting release dates or finding reviewers who are more aware of the target audience's desires.