The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A society has many responsibilities, but one of the most important duties is to raise leaders in the future generations in order to continue a successful and thriving community. While many societies are competition based, there are both beneficial and harmful effects that competition can have on young people and whole communities. Instead, enforcing a sense of cooperation may encourage young people to be more honest, compassionate, and dutiful leaders. In this essay, I will explore the benefits of creating cooperative leaders, the risks of cooperation instead of competition, and the importance of societies finding a balance between the cooperation and competition to support the innovation and compassionate leaders and members of society.

Instilling a sense of cooperation may produce stronger leaders as it teaches people to work with others instead of against them. Additionally, while leaders must have a sense of intellect and knowledge of the field, they may benefit from hearing ideas from others and facing decisions with a team, rather than on their own. Raising leaders that are more focused on cooperation care about others and their community more than leaders who are focused on competition and beating out others. The best leaders in government, technology, healthcare, and other major industries are all focused on producing the best results by working together with others in order to achieve more and to produce policies and products that benefit more people.

While there are many strengths of cooperation-focused leaders, it is also necessary to address possible downsides of focusing too heavily on cooperation and too little on competition. There may be lack of innovation without a driving competition between individuals or companies. Additionally, some leaders may too focused on making everybody happy and become a "people-pleaser" instead of making decisions that are best for the whole company or population. Many modern societies are focused heavily on competition because it pushes people to be better and work harder, and many great inventions and ideas were created by people in competition with others.

However, while there are some limitations to instilling a sense of cooperation instead of competition in young people, these limitations may be overcome by creating a balance of competition and cooperation, where people still feel the need to work hard and be innovative, while not struggling with the more intense harms of competition.

Competition may lead to stressful situations, burn-out, or intimidation, which are all concerns for many societal and work communities. Invoking a focus on cooperation with a balance of competition may prove to be the most beneficial for the whole company and for the individual workers and leaders, as it leads to both innovative and compassionate people.

Ultimately, societies will benefit from instilling cooperation and humanistic characteristics in their future leaders over focusing on competition. There are possible risks that may emerge when focusing too heavily on one instead of another, whether it be stress and burn-out from competition or lack of innovation from cooperation, so finding a balance to cooperation and competition may prove to be the best solution. However, a community focused on caring for others and doing what is best for everyone will create happier, more satisfied people, which is the ultimate goal of most successful leaders.