The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

The advertising director of Super Screen Movies provides an interesting argument to bring attendance back up. The plan of action provided is logical and may be successful, but the director needs to consider the hidden factors that may hinder achieving the desired results.

The argument assumes that the quality of movies is the only thing causing diminished attendance at the theater. Since the advertising director acknowledges the increase in the number of positive reviews, other factors must be considered. The argument fails to take into account the current market for viewing movies in theatres. Were movie sales down across all production companies? Were only certain populations going to see movies last year? With programs like Netflix and Hulu on the rise, the younger generations could be choosing movies at home over going to theaters. The advertising director needs to consider that if movie sales are decreasing as a whole, spending more money to increase advertisements would not fix the issue.

Secondly, this argument uses vague language in describing the types of advertisements that are being planned. This argument fails to elaborate on what mediums of advertising are being used now. If only one type of medium is being utilized, say newspapers, the company needs to consider trying new forms to reach a broader audience. Doubling the same type of advertisements would not get the type of exposure the company is desiring.

Lastly, the argument does not fail to mention what type of audience the advertisements will try to reach. Is the company seeking to reach more critics? Young people? Had the argument expanded on what population it is hoping to reach, the direction for how to advertise would have been more clearly stated. With this information, the argument would have a clearer sense of direction and a more effective plan of action.