A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Education provides students with the vital tools and skills needed to achieve success in higher education, and in an occupational setting. Because of this, a nation should require all students to study the same curriculum until entering college.

Studying the same curriculum nationally provides the ideal opportunity for consistency. Today, students entering college all vary immensely in their educational backgrounds. Choose two incoming students, and the discrepancies in their previous curriculums are noticed immediately. One freshman has taken upper calculus classes, while the other barely received any instruction covering the basics of college algebra. Giving students the exact same plan of study before college allows each individual to feel confident that they a solid foundation to build on entering college. Furthermore, an adopted national curriculum promotes fairness in access to resources. Students living in rural areas have the same resources and training available to them as the schools in metropolitan locations do; all students will have the same base of knowledge, skillsets, and resources as a result of a national curriculum. Uniformity in the curriculum allows all students to receive the education necessary to be successful in college <i>and</i> in the occupational world.

However, uniform curriculums nationally can hinder creativity in the educational realm. All students being judged on the equal standards set by the adopted curriculum diminishes the importance of individuality. For example, college applicants will all be judged, essentially, on who is the most intelligent. Students will be hindered in their abilities to show creativity and uniqueness, giving them little opportunities to set themselves apart in ways other than academic achievement. In addition, teachers will be limited in their ability to alter the curriculum to fit the specific needs of students in their classroom. Each teacher has to stick unwaveringly to the curriculum given, leaving them little room to provide extra learning opportunities or add their own personalization to a subject. Although there are downfalls of a national curriculum, the benefits of consistency entering college and the equal access to resources for all students outweigh the potential cons. Ultimately, the opportunity for consistency in the education system is necessary and is best provided by a national curriculum.