Essay topics: The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Mayor Harrison Smith Jones' proposal for the new subway system is flawed for many reasons. The memorandum fails to discuss specific details that are crucial to this plan being as successful as he hopes.

First, the argument fails to address the location of the "notorious traffic congestion" in the city. His proposal assumes that this sleek, new subway will solve all the traffic issues without clarifying where the traffic is the worst. Is traffic an issue downtown? Entering the city? Leaving the city? Without this information, the subway system will be less successful if it fails to reduce traffic where it is the worst. The Mayor should evaluate and elaborate on traffic conditions further to create a more effective plan.

In addition, the argument makes a weak link between less traffic leading to more productivity in the workplace as a whole. This is a lofty assumption. The workers decline in productivity could be the result of a variety of factors. Perhaps the low economy mentioned is dampening the spirits in Briggsville, or workers are becoming unsatisfied with their place of employment. Along with this, the plan does not specify which occupations are facing a decline in output. Are businesses suffering from lowering rates in the areas where there is traffic? Is this an isolated incident or just local to one area of town? To strengthen the argument, the Mayor needs to determine the cause of decreased productivity and the location of businesses with decreased productivity, then suggest an adequate solution.

Finally, the argument makes the vague correlation that an immediate increase in productivity will improve the economy in Briggsville. Mayor Harrison Jones-Smith fails to take into account the various reasons for a low economy. Is the economy as a whole struggling? If this is the case, the subway system will do little to improve a national economic decline. Similarly, the major argues that this subway system will immediately increase worker productivity, and in turn improve the economy. Immediately is a powerful word in terms of the economy. Very rarely does a workplace dynamic shift overnight; economies do not dramatically improve immediately either. To strengthen this proposal, the state of the current national economy must be taken into account. Ultimately, this proposal is one that has the potential to be an effective plan of action. However, it desperately needs more clarification and detail to achieve what the Mayor desires.