The following is taken from a memo the advertising director of the Super Screen movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of the positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the publis's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director believes that the problem with decrease in people attended Super Screen-produced movies these several years came from lack of appropriate advertising. Thus, he proposes to allocate more budget for advertisement. This idea, however, has many weak points: some hidden agenda to get more budget from director of advertising section, other possible problems that do not discuss here or the ability of company to allocate budget to advertising section.

According to the memo, advertising director is one of the best managers in Super Screen-produced movies company, he found a problem and tried to solve that problem in the way he can do. Nevertheless, highlight at advertising director, advertising section surely get more budget if company allocate more money for advertisement. He maybe would like to show efficiency of his section but using money to advertise seem to waste a lot of money. There should be other method that can solve this problem and use less money.

Not only this is a memo from advertising director, but also the number in this memo seem to have a problem. The director said that while there are fewer people watch the movie from company, the percentage of positive review increase. What is this meaning? We can interpret that only people who satisfy with watching movie from Super Screen-produced movies still be the loyalty customer; whereas, the others just left. We cannot assume that movie’s content still good from these result.

Although the content of company’s movies is really good. There still have many possible problems that decrease the number of customers. Nowadays, everyone can easily access to the internet and there are many impinged movie free to watch. Customer do not necessary to pay full of price to see it. They just see it for free anywhere and any times. The more advertisement maybe make more people acknowledge the movies but did not help to increase benefit of company because people watching advertisement will go to download that movie for free from the internet.

Advertising more seem to be a good and easy idea to achieve and solve the problem of company; however, if we scrutinize in more detail of this argument, we will know that there maybe external factor that effect to decline in customer such as impinged movie. This is not just a problem of movies company, it is a problem of nation. We all should not support this product and the government should release more law to control this issued.