The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should, therefore, allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

The passage mentions an argument that is somehow tricky to accept. According to this argument, although the number of attendance of Super Screen-produced movies decreased during the past year, the percentage of positive reviews about those movies actually increased. So the author concluded that they should advertise these positive reviews to attract viewers to their movies. Meaning that their index for measuring the quality of the movies is the percentage of positive reviews. Moreover, the author states that the percentage, not the number, of the positive reviews, increased. Let's dive deeper into these factors mentioned in this argument.

The advertising director of the company should explain more about the positive reviews' contents. Viewers' interests are not the same, and the author should take it into consideration. These positive reviews may have been proposed by a small number of people who watched the movie in a different way, and they pay more attention to the details. Clearly, by considering some positive comments about a movie, we cannot expect that many people would like it since they don't watch the movie in the same way those reviewers watch.

In addition to the varied interests of the viewers and their difference with reviewers' opinions, it isn't mentioned precisely how many reviewers have commented on the movie, and compare it to the previous times. Perhaps, along with the reduction of the number of attendants of the movies, the number of reviewers also decreased. Therefore, only those interested reviewers watched the movies, which lead to positive comments.

The author, also, didn't mention the negative reviews. Maybe, these negative comments, despite being a few, have been more effective in which, they discussed every part of the movie more precisely than those of positive reviewers. Thus, people who read those comments decided not to watch the movie because of the influence of the picture that negative reviewers depicted of the movie.

Lastly, it is not appropriate to only discuss some specific movies of the company, instead, we should consider a company as a whole. Maybe, the number of bad movies of that company has been so abundant that a few numbers of good movies could not create fame for the corporation.

The advertising director of the company, thus, should consider the production of higher-quality movies with the money he/she wants to invest in advertising of positive reviews. When a company produces good movies, people themselves would act like an advertiser introducing the movie to one another.