The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation. “To answer the increased demand for artisanal coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, ‘Gourmet Select.’ Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corporation will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make ‘Gourmet Select’ one of the top sellers in the coffee market.” Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

While the author provides an interesting argument about the proposal to make the brand 'Gourmet Select' a major success, it fails to consider several conditions that might hinder it from doing so.

First of all, the strategy given by Apex Corporation is to first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. Although this is a good marketing strategy, the cost of maintaining this for several months might be too high. When it will be introduced in the major supermarkets, it will be competing with a lot of brands already in the artisanal coffee business who will already have a loyal customer base, thus it will be a major challenge to make them switch to 'Gourmet Select' and without a good marketing campaign during its initial launch, the corporation might not be able to make a large mark on the business.

Second, we don’t know what business the Apex Corporation are in, thus it will be wrong to assume that the corporation has a good history in the food business. For example, people would rather buy coffee from a brand that is being introduced by a corporation in the food business then the one being introduced by an electronics company.

Third, as the corporation are considering to introduce this brand into major supermarkets, they might fail to make a mark on a large audience who shop from local shops rather than going to supermarkets, also by introducing it in local shops where the choice of selection is less as compared to the supermarkets, it has a larger chance to make a major mark in the coffee business and the word-of-mouth marketing might work.

Fourthly, the corporation are aiming to release it to major chain restaurants, but it might be that the people coming to these restaurants might be buying food that will not go well with coffee. For example, people coming to buy burgers and pizzas might not want coffee with their food, instead they would prefer a good soda to go with their food. Thus, the strategy to introduce it in these restaurants might not be advisable.

Hence, unless the corporation makes some changes to their strategy, it will be an uphill task to make 'Gourmet Select' a major competitor in the artisanal coffee industry and Apex Corporation might have more to lose then to gain from this venture.