Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It is often said that the country is not run by the politicians and the leaders who makes the speeches but rather by the government officials who are working tirelessly behind the scenes. So, it might be very tempting to state that government officials should rely solely on their judgement while making the policies for the whole country rather than unquestionably carrying out the will of the people. According to me, this is an over-simplification of a rather complex topic.

One of the main responsibilities of a government is the welfare of the people they are governing, and it is necessary that the people making the policies should listen to the voices of the people they are trying to make the policies for as it will affect them the most. This will also result in a clearer policy as more points will be covered which might have been overlooked if the policy makers made the laws without consulting the common people.

Some may argue that if the government officials start listening and implementing the will of the people, the policy making process will become really tedious and some people with connections might try to influence the decision-making process. But generally, the people who join the ranks of the government do so by competing with a lot of able candidates and passing through rigorous rounds of interviews. For example, the people joining the top ranks of the Indian bureaucracy are recruited through a common entrance exam known as the UPSC in which the candidates compete with lakhs of people and have rigorous interviews which test their skill as well as their integrity as individuals. Thus, the government officials who are recruited have enough moral character of not being swayed by the influence of some prominent people. Also, it might seem a tedious process to listen to a lot of contradicting views before reaching a conclusion on a policy, but this is still better then making a policy that might benefit only one part of a society while threatening the lives of others.

Thus, government officials should listen to the views of the people and their own judgement to make the policies that is best for the nation instead of relying solely on their judgement or just blindly following the wills of the people.