"The following was used as part of an internet advertising company's appeal to businesses: Furniture Depot employed our internet advertising company to help. Since then its sales increased by 10% over last year's totals. Furniture Depot's success demonstrates how using our internet services can increase your profitability.

The marketing strategy employed by the furniture company, however appealing, is flawed in its consistency. The inference of a sales hike directly depending upon employment of the advertisement agency is naive and does not seem to take into consideration other parallel facets of the Furniture Depot.

To start with, the Furniture depot might be a successful company which has been exhibiting an upward trend in the sale totals since inception. It is not adequately provided that what is the general increase figure of the Depot every year. The quoted 10% over last few years might be less than what the expectancy is, and hence, might be a counter-productive stat in its nature. Hence, the word used 'success' is not reliable, and pellucids the argument.

Moreover, the argument does not take into consideration all the business measures taken by Furniture Depot along with and after employing the advertisement services. For example, it might have increased the discounts on the products, or done a glossy makeover of the showroom. Hence, the total of 10% would be attributed to multiple factors. Also, it's not linear that only this internet advertisement company was hired. Maybe there were multiple contracts with different marketing companies which combinedly brought better sales to the Depot.

Also, the advertisement requirement for sales boost might vary from vertical to vertical in terms of businesses. For example word-of-mouth satisfaction apparently works the best for retail sector, whereas glossy advertisements would help in upwarding sales of Aesthetic (Furniture, home decor) sector. Hence, a quoted profit of Furniture Depot might not be adequate for everyone to whom the argument appeals.