The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe. “Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is ‘Jazz Nightly,’ which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable.”

The argument stated by the group of developer in monroe, that having a jazz music club will be most profitable, to launch an application for a small-business loan. they had assumed many assumptions to sanction their claim. it is the arguments contains tremendous holes due to the assumptions made by the group of developers. However, if the author is able to explain a stronger evidence for all the below assumptions, then the argument will be valid.

Firstly, the group has mainly taken a year measure to calculate the popularity of the jazz music in the monroe city, which might not be hold true for the general cases, because they might be chances that the summer festival tickets were freely available for the city peoples. By which they have seen a huge crowd of 1 lakh people in the fest. Also, they might be chances that the people from other places had arrived to see the music performance. this might not completely, state the popularity of the jazz team in monroe, hence the argument will have no water, if this assumption will not be added with stronger proofs.

Secondly, the nearest jazz club would be an hour away from some locations, but as a city it will have many locations and the distance from all the city locations to the club might not be an hour. Moreover, the city has many different types of transport and the travel time between the transport varies based on the path we choose, so stating the distance exactly one hour might make the argument false.

Lastly, from the nationwide survey they concluded that around 1K is spend by each fan in a year on the jazz entertainment shows, this survey might be true for only rich fans of the music club, as the assumption does not clearly state about the financial condition of the fans who pay this much amount on jazz events. because, they can be non-rich fans of the jazz, who might not be able to pay this much high amount in the events. having the assumption with these faults will make the argument weaker.

In conclusion, the application stated by the group of the developers of the city monroe, can only be valid if the above assumptions are considered with stronger evidence by the author and using these hypothetical examples the author can make the assumptions more stronger to the argument than weakening it.