The following was written as a part of an application for a small-business loan by a group of developers in the city of Monroe.

"Jazz music is extremely popular in the city of Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer, and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight. Also, a number of well-known jazz musicians own homes in Monroe. Nevertheless, the nearest jazz club is over an hour away. Given the popularity of jazz in Monroe and a recent nationwide study indicating that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment, a jazz music club in Monroe would be tremendously profitable."

The author suggests that a jazz music club would be lucrative in Monroe. However, several assumptions in the argument need support.

The memo states that over 100,000 people went to the annual jazz festival last summer in Monroe. An assumption here is that such people are all the locals in Monroe. However, it is possible that most of these attendances are tourists from other cities, staying in Monroe for a few weeks during the jazz festival each year. If most of the attendances are residents in Monroe, then the conclusion mentioned above might be reasonable. But if they are people from all around the world, then such conclusion could be doubtful. Thus, the author should at least provide more information about who are these attendances, and where are they from.

The argument assumes that many residents listened to ‘Jazz Nightly’, which is the high-rated radio program in Monroe. However, it might be possible that just a few residents love listening to jazz music, and some of them might rate the program highly. If many residents listen to the radio program regularly, then they could be loyal fans of jazz. But if just a few residents listen to such program, who rate the program highly, then we cannot simply conclude that many residents love jazz music. We need to know more about how many residents would listen to ‘Jazz Nightly’ regularly.

The author states that a lot of famous jazz musicians have houses in Monroe. Still, the assumption that they usually live in Monroe because of the jazz fan is groundless. If such musicians live in the city for eight months or above each year, then it might be possible that they choose to live in Monroe for the audiences of jazz in Monroe. But if such musicians live in Monroe for a few weeks each year, then such conclusion could be unreasonable. Even if such musicians live in Monroe for a long time each year, it is entirely possible that they choose to live in this city because of its mild weather, low tax rate, and scenic beauty. Thus, the author should provide more information about how long they live in Monroe each year.

Citing a recent national survey, the author assumes that a jazz music club in Monroe could be profitable. However, we have no information about who did the survey? If the survey was conducted by a group of experts from renowned laboratories, then the survey could be reliable. But if the survey was conducted by a group of students, who did it for their group projects of lecture, then it is worth doubting that the survey is valid. Even if the survey could be trusted, we still need to know how the typical jazz fan around $1000 on jazz entertainment each year. It is possible that such fans buy a lot of albums each year or pay a large amount of money on some jazz concerts. Thus, the author should provide more information about how much money such fans would spend on the jazz music club.

To strengthen the argument, the author would need to address these assumptions.