Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the given information, the study states that anyone who chooses to drink green tea should limit their intake to no more than two cups a day. However, while the conclusion drawn by the study regarding the intake quantity of green tea might hold water, but it rests on several unfounded assumptions that, if not substantiated, dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. Thus, the following three questions must be addressed.

First, is the given study conducted on appropriate set of people? Also, are the methods used to conduct the study fully correct or not? It may be possible that the sample size of the study was too small to reach any valid conclusion. It may also be possible that the people on whom the study was conducted were also taking some other foods that contained caffeine but researchers failed to take this in account. The researchers of the study should make their data public and shoud reveal which factors they took in account and which ones they ignored while making the stated conclusion.

Second, is the absolute quantity of caffeine in a product a correct indicator of harmful effects of caffeine? It may be possible that when different ingredients are mixed, the composition of the product changes and thus the claim that taking higher absolute amount of caffeine is harmful may not be valid. This is because chemical componds have properties different from their individual ingrediants. It may be possible that a product with higher caffeine content may have such a chemical strcuture that the effect of caffeine gets moderated and thus, this product shows lesser effects of caffeine when consumed than a product with lower amounts of caffeine but with different chemical composition. Thus, the reseachers of the study must explain this point.

Finally, is the limit of no more than two cups a day valid for everyone? The study states that anyone should not take more than two cups of green tea to avoid any harmful effects of caffeine. But it may be possible that this limit is different for every individual. Some people may not see any harmful effects on consuming more than two cups a day and some may see harmful effects on consuming even one cup of green tea in a day. Thus, the claim of the study that the limit of green tea consumption per day is two for everyone may not be valid and thus needs to be further scrutinized.

In conclusion, while the study may have drawn a sound conclusion regarding the intake quantity of green tea, more data is needed before a firm conclusion is reached. Thus, the above three questions must be answered to fully evaluate the validity of the argument.