Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging, and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people, therefore, believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

The argument is based on a few facts about green tea. First, the benefits are mentioned and later, the side effects of a high level of consumption are enumerated. The argument concludes by stating that a person shouldn't drink more than two cups of green tea a day in order to avoid the side effects of its constituents. The argument mentions that the green tea has moderate amounts of caffeine which is quite harmful to the human body and if a large amount of green tea is being consumed on a regular basis, it would show the same side effects as of a chronic coffee drinker. The argument quite subtlely ignores a number of important factors which should be considered before coming to a conclusion such as what is the exact amount caffeine present in green tea or what amount of team powder do people generally mix in the water?

Green tea has been proven to benefit the human body in numerous ways and is undoubtedly salubrious for all of us. However, it also has moderate amounts of caffeine which stimulates sleeplessness, irritability and headaches if consumed in large amounts. Chronic coffee drinkers face this problem on a regular basis and it is directly associated with the amount of caffeine present in it. There could be other constituent materials of coffee which induce sleeplessness and irritability. A detailed study on whether caffeine is the sole reason for such a happening is required to strengthen the argument. As of now, caffeine being the common ingredient between coffee and green tea is fallaciously regarded as the reason for sleeplessness and irritability.

Further, what percentage of caffeine is present ina standard amount of coffee and green tea should be mentioned in order to reinforce the argument because, if the amount of caffeine in green tea is found to be minute, the argument will fail to stand. To conclude that a person should not drink more than 2 cups of green tea depends largely on how much green tea content he or she mixes in how much amount of water. This is absolutely subjective and will vary from person to person and in which case the argument is too absurd to even be considered.

If a person mixes a very little amount of green tea content in large amount of water which makes the solution dilute can probably drink more than 2 cups of green tea a day without any harm. In order to reinforce the argument, the criteria of exactly what amount of green tea if mixed with what amount of water causes harm should be explicitly mentioned.

In a nutshell, the argument lacks in-depth and should be filled with more pertinent facts and data in order to strengthen it. A more rigorous and diligent study about the data of the constituents of green would most likely make the argument firm and credible.