A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The statement is absolutely clear and comprehensive. It mentions the necessity of following the same national curriculum until the students reach the level of a college education. There could be several views on this particular statement but I would strongly agree and would further strengthen the issue.

When students enter into a kindergarten school, everything is new and strange for them. They come across such a situation for the first time in their lives and it is almost daunting for them to wake up every day and go to a place far away from home and spend time with strange people. Eventually, they are accustomed to the routine and study pattern and start developing themselves in every possible way. They are taught is a specific manner and gradually become more equipped at grasping the concepts quickly. Changing the curriculum after, suppose, the 5th grade would force the students to re-align themselves with the new curriculum and start afresh. Though it might be beneficial for some students who could not cope up with the previous curriculum but for most of them, it could prove to be yet another daunting experience. Students who have studied a particular curriculum for half of their school life would experience a sudden downfall when forced to study a different curriculum which requires disparate studying and teaching patterns.

Another important aspect which has to be taken into consideration is that most of the students do not go abroad for higher studies and would eventually continue their careers in the native country itself. Assuming that the curriculum had changed once in their high school and the college curriculum is again based on the national curriculum, which implies that, students would face yet another ordeal adjusting back to the native pattern of studies. This change at a college level would result in a nightmare for several students.

Thus, instead of changing the curriculum in the middle of the high school, the educational board of that country should shift their focus on improving the current curriculum and making it more competent, viable and efficient. Though to a certain degree, exposure to a different curriculum could prove beneficial for students, but this could also be achieved by various other means. Adopting the most beneficial aspects of a different curriculum or coming up with innovative ideas in order to make the current curriculum efficient is a way of providing the students with the necessary exposure.

In a nutshell, Changing the curriculum in the middle of high school could result in more harm than good as the students may get distracted from their studies and start focussing on adapting to the change.