Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because of these developments, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil

In this recommendation, the author advices the client to invest in Consolidate Industries, one of whos major business operation is retail sail of home heating oil, as local weather forecaster predict below-average temperature for several more years. However, the recommendation suffers from several flaws, and is therefore unwise and unconvincing as it stands, albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the author unjustifiably assumes people now still use oil as their major fuel for heating homes during winters. to support this he states traditionally oil is used as a major fuel for heating and further assumes the new homes constructed now would use the same technique to heat up their houses. However, nowadays due the advancement of technology people have and access to various different electrical machines used to heat up the houses, like the heaters, which are more convenient and cheaper in operation. Perhaps, people use such devices to heat their houses. The author fails to provide evidence to support this claim that oils are still being used to heat up houses.

In addition to this, the author unfairly assumes that the information stated by local forecasters is true. He provides no evidence or statistical data to support this assumption. He states that last year northeastern United States experienced below average temperature and based on this information the local forecasters predict similar weather pattern for several years. How can the forecasters predict information for several years based on 20 days? Also, there are no geographic evidences or statistical reports presented by the author to support the same.

Lastly, the author assumes that investing in Consolidate Industries would benefit the client. Even if we consider that the people still use heating oils as their major fuel but, the word 'major' does not imply that heating oil is the only fuel used. Furthermore, since traditionally oil is being used as a fuel for heating, there maybe more different companies producing and selling such heating oils, these companies maybe locals and people might be supporting locals than Consolidate Industry because local brand are usually cheaper than non-locals. However, does Consolidate Industry sell their oil in Northeastern United States? If no then there in no point in investing in the same.

To sum up, the author seems hurried to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions. To strengthen the argument, further investigation and analysis are needed, as the author is not able to justify his stand and does not present us with relevant support to his stand.