“Recently we signed a contract with The Fly-Away Pest-Control Company to provide pest-control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest-Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff Company for all our pest-control services.”

In the given memorandum, the Vice President of a food distribution company suggests to resign their contract of pest control services with Buzzoff Company in order to save money. However, the advice given by the Vice President suffers from several un-answered questions and flaws and therefore is unconvincing and unwise as it stands. Albeit it may appear plausible at cursory glance.

To begin with, the authoe states that after signing the contract with Fly-Away Pest control services, last month, Food worth $20,000 was destroyed by pest damage. The very first question that arises is, how significant is the amount $20,000 to the company? Because if the company is quiet a big one with a total revenue of, say, $ 1 billion or more. Then $20,000 of waste should not be a big deal for it. Also, is one month of time period enough to judge the results of the pest control services. It may be possible that the pest requires a minimum time of, say, 5 weeks to die due to the pest service. Hence, I feel the author should provide more data regarding the points mentioned above.

In addition to this, the author has mentioned BuzzOff company previously used to provide services to the warehouse of Palm City for many years. And recently the food company has signed the contract with Fly-Away company. Which brings up the question that, what was the reason behind the change in Contract from BuzzOff to Fly-Away? Was it due to the financial issues? Or was it because Buzz of was no more providing service in Palm city. It might also be a case that the bugs in the warehouse were increasing day by day instead of decreasing, and hence the company needed to change the pest service company. The author should provide more information about the reason behind the removal of BuzzOff at first place.

Furthermore, The author unfairly compares the food damage reports of Wintervale to the reports of palm city. The author says, damage worth $10,000 was seen last month at Wintervale, and hence they should return to buzzOff company. The author should take in consideration that circumstances at different locations are different. By which I mean, the weather conditions, the temperature, etc. are different in Wintervale and Palm City. The bugs damaging the food might be growing more in weather conditions suitable to Palm City. And this might be a reason why last month there was a noticeable increase in damage. May be last month was quiet a hot summer month. There are various such questions arising due to lack of information provided by the author. Hence, the author should provide more information to convince his statements to me.

In conclusion, the author seems hurried to jump to the conclusion based on a series of problematic assumptions. The author should provide more clearer Information regarding the company data to convince me to change the contract and return back to BuzzOff Pest Company.