Homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last year that region experienced 90 days with below-average temperatures, and climate forecasters at Waymarsh University predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes have been built in this region during the past year. Because these developments will certainly result in an increased demand for heating oil, we recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the advice and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the advice.

The author suggests an investment in Consolidated Industries, due to the predicted increase in demand for heating oil in the future. However, there are several questions that need to be answered to evaluate the claim.

The climate forecasters believe that the weather will continue to be at below-average temperatures for several more years. However, do the forecasters really have the ability to predict the weather accurately? They are probably just college students who are using the basic prediction model they just learned from the class, and don’t have any real-world case experience. Perhaps with the effect of global warming, the climate becomes more unstable and unpredictable, so it's more difficult to predict, especially in such a distant future. We need to know how accurate their prediction is, and whether those forecasters are professional enough to prove that their research is reliable.

Even if the climate goes colder in the future, we still have to ask: Is it the only way for people to keep warm? People may not only use heating oil but also use stoves, electric heaters or wear more clothes. If heating oil is the only way or the cheapest way to stay warm, most people will use it. But if there are other choices, the demand for heating oil will not increase.

The author claims that many new houses have been built in this region. What’s the occupancy rate in this region? Is this area popular? Did the population increase rapidly this year? Maybe these houses are owned by real estate companies and investors and they are not in a hurry to sell those properties. Or these may be just vacation homes, wherein the homeowner only lives here for a few months and is empty most of the time.

Even if those houses were sold and many people will live here, it doesn’t guarantee the increase of demand for heating oil. With the rapid development of technology, new homes will be built with new materials that can keep people warm inside. In addition, people will most likely move to a warmer place, if this place gets too cold.

Most importantly, the author recommends to invest in Consolidated Industries. However, is there any other competitor in this market? If the company has the biggest market share in this field, then the oil heating demand will have a high relevance to this company. But if there are many competitors in this market, then there will be more competition, so they have to advertise or promote a discount, and the profit could be low. The author needs to provide a detailed analysis and explanation of each side of the existing company.

The investment in Consolidated Industries may be credible, but the author needs to answer the questions stated above to strengthen his or her investment insight.