“If we want to save money on municipal garbage disposal fees, we need to encourage our residents to recycle more. Late last year, our neighboring town, Hayesworth, passed a law requiring that all households recycle paper and glass, or pay a fine. Since that time, Hayesworth has seen its garbage disposal costs significantly decrease. If we implemented an advertising campaign encouraging our residents to recycle, Masontown would also save money on disposal of its waste.”Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument presented makes some unwarranted assumptions in reaching the conclusion that an advertising campaign encouraging citizens to recycle would help in decreasing Masontown's municipal garbage disposal fees. It fails to provide relevant supporting arguments and other necessary details to support its recommendation.

First, the argument states that encouraging residents to recycle more will help saving money on municipal garbage disposal fees. So, it is a possibility that the a significant amount of people might be recycling but the municipal fees charged might be exorbitantly high, which leads to higher spending even though recycling is taking place. We are not provided specific data about the fees levied and level of recycling people in Masontown were already doing in order to make a fair assessment. Also, the population of Hayesworth and Masontown needs to be compared in order to assess the amount of garbage that the towns generate without recycling. If the population of Hayestown is significantly lower, it already had lower disposal costs than Masontown.

Second, the neighbour town Hayesworth had passed a law making recycling compulsory for all households, with a fine as penalty. Now, in the letter provided, an advertising campaign is being recommended. Codifying something into law makes it compulsory and helps in better enforcement. Out of fear of consequences, people tend to follow it. While an advertising campaign might be effective in spreading awareness, it cannot be expected to have the same effect as a strict law. People of Masontown might end up ignoring the campaign completely. Also, the money spent on advertising which might or might not be effective might lead to more spending adding to the town's monetary issues.

Finally, it is said that after the passing of the law, the garbage disposal costs in Hayesworth decreased significantly. But, the argument fails to provide detailed information about the decrease. The passing of the law might not be the only reason behind the decrease, it could be a number of other outside factors, like decreased costs of municipality disposal or in general people generating less garbage. We cannot falsely attribute the decrease to the law without relevant data being provided.

Thus, the argument has some yawning gaps to fill before we can evaluate the recommendation. Thus, an advertising campaign encouraging recycling cannot be posited as a solution to Masontown's garbage disposal spending. All things considered, due to lack of credible evidence in its favour, the argument cannot be rendered reasonable. The lack of details provided and the fallacious basis provided for the recommendation lead to an ambiguous argument, which has a lot of logical flaws.