claim: The emergence of the online "blogosphere" and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Everyone has the right to freedom of expression, but getting a universal platform to express your opinions is something which the world has acquired recently. Social media has played a very vital role in helping people in expressing their views, discussing and in being cognizant of what's going on in our surroundings. Though, as it has been rightly said, too much of something can be harmful, even excessive misuse of such freedom comes at a cost.

Some 40 years back, when even owning a mobile phone was a luxury, who would have imagined conversing with strangers living on the other side of the globe would become so convenient. With the advent of social media and the online "blogosphere", it has become easier to express opinions on even the most trivial matters or the extremely sensitive ones like politics. Politics has become dinner table talk thanks to the wide range of exposure provided by the internet.

TV channels, newspapers and other traditional methods of news reporting have become obsolete, at least to the younger generations. There are only a handful of such channels which till date provide an unbiased, unfiltered opinion of the matter at hand. Most of them fail to be neutral when it comes to reporting matters related to politics because of their obligations to the left or the right. So naturally, people prefer getting a disinterested view rather than one that has been polished and exaggerated to an extent where it fails to portray things in true light. Social media is a platform for people from all point of views to express their opinion equally, and adjudicate and take a side.

Too many cooks spoil the broth. Social media comes with its disadvantages, people tend to form opinions very easily, and because not everyone is fully informed of the matter, they end up going with the crowd. The recent Wall Street scandal, that originated from a reddit channel blew out of proportion with everyone placing bets on the stock. What started as a way of punishing short traders, became a revolution which ended in both sides losing a lot of money. Such instances force us to rethink the extent of freedom which should be provided when expressing opinions.

Everyone should be allowed to publish their opinions easily, it is a welcome change for the United States, but such blatant misuse should be condemned.