Claim: An action is morally correct if the amount of good that results from the action is greater than the amount of bad that results from the action. Reason: When assessing the morality of an action, the results of the action are more important than the intent of the person or people performing the action. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

Morality is the virtue of a person, it is an inherent quality that people possess. It is not something that cannot be judged on the basis of outcomes, the thought that goes behind it is what matters the most. So, we cannot assume an action to be done in good faith just because the good results outweigh the bad. Doing good is not something that can be quantized. We can never truly measure the amount of good that has resulted from an action, it is all a matter of perspective. So, one person might choose to focus on only the good part, and render the disadvantages negligent, while another person might consider the disadvantages resulting from the action to be too huge. We cannot be fully dispassionate when taking a side, one side will always appeal more to a person than the other side.Life is unpredictable and untractable, it changes in a matter of seconds. We cannot always depend on things to go our way, and that is exactly why depending on the results of an action is discouraged. So, a person with the best of intentions might take actions that lead to dire consequences, while a malevolent person might end up becoming the hero, even though that was not his true intention. Benevolency in a very important trait when it comes to assessing someone's morality. No matter how much the person is celebrated for his deeds, it always comes down to the intentions. In one way or another, the real intentions behind the action always come out. Take for example the case of renowned personality donating to a social cause related to feminism because of the publicity he will be getting through it. Even though it might look like he is doing good, but his intentions are not truly honest and moral. But, true intentions always have a way of showing up. So, the same person soem days later is in the news for being embroiled in a sex scandal. How does this portray his morality now? Something to be considered when making such statements. Therefore, we can conclude that when we are judging the morality of a certain action, the final outcome shouldn't be the only factor taken into consideration, the intentions of the person who is performing the action is equally, if not more important.