An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treat

Allowing current patients of a doctor to gain easy access to a doctor’s record of treating similar cases in the past will help the patient in ascertaining the best method of treatment to go about, and in deciding the best option for getting their ailment cured.

Health and wellbeing is a very sensitive topic for a person, and ensuring that they are provided with the best possible care and treatment is the responsibility of the doctors, hospital and other medical staff. Now, if the patient is provided with these details, it helps them in choosing the most suitable and proficient doctor who is renowned in that specific procedure for their ailment. The sense of validation provided to them is not a full guarantee that their ailment will be cured, but has the least amount of risk associated with it. Thus, making the process easier for them.

In this case, the patient chooses the doctor of their own accord, knowing beforehand the competency of the doctor, and the risks associated with the procedure. So it also balances out the accountability on both ends . If a certain patient chooses a doctor, informed of all the risks and history associated, they also end up being accountable for the decision if something goes amiss, not lessening the accountability of the doctor in any case.

It provides a patient more insight into the different alternatives available for their treatment, promoting transparency among the doctor and the patient. For instance, if a cancer patient is ready to opt for a risky surgery, knowing all the risks, but his doctor does not provide him with that option, he should be able to assess the situation better looking at his doctor’s previous track record. He can opt for the surgery after consulting the doctor about that option. Also, it should be made sure that these details should in no way harm the doctor-patient confidentiality of the patient’s whose records are being accessed. It should respect the privacy of the other patients involved, and at the same time prove to be insightful for the ailing patient.

Therefore, it can be concluded that providing ailing patients access to their doctor’s medical records regarding the same ailment, might help the patient in discovering the best person for the job, and determining the most apt course of treatment. Provided that it is done in a manner which upholds privacy and promotes cognizance, this method could prove to be very beneficial for treating patients.