An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author's argument that this new breed of millet high in vitamin A will combat vitamin A deficiency in Tagus might be true but is rife with holes and assumptions which does not allow the author to make a valid case in this context. Vitamins are essential for sustaining a healthy and happy life. If you are healthy and have a sound mind you can achieve whatever you wish for. A healthy body is essential for growth of the person and his mental peace.

Primarily, I would like to argue the author's assumption of being sure that this new engineered breed will definitely combat vitamin A deficiency, how can the author be sure about this as he as not provide any past occurrences of use of this new engineered breed, it might do more harm than good, it might make people sick with any other disease. Neither the author has provided any previous evidence of the new breed's efficiency to combat the deficiency nor any survey is provided to prove that fact that it actually helps to combat the deficiency.

Secondarily, the author mentions here that the government is providing subsidies to grow this new breed of millet as they are expensive but it is based on the assumptions that all farmers will agree to grow this new engineered seed rather than what they used to grow earlier, there might be farmers which refuse to do so because of the extra efforts they would need to do to plant these new seeds and it might require more precise attention to grow the new engineered seeds. The author also takes the assumptions that this new seed will have all the adequate environment need to flourish.

Moreover, the author assumes that as millet is a staple food in Tagus the people will readily accept the new variety, it might be true but what if the people deny to use this new variety and ask questions of its effectiveness, what if the new variety does not taste like the old one. But if we consider the that all things fall into place and the new variety is grown properly and the people of Tagus accept the new variety and the deficiency is also cured, there might be a possibility that it did provide the cure but harms the person slowly in an insidious way as the new engineered seed was not tested.

Lastly, I would like to conclude that the author could not support his argument. He as not provided any evidence to support his point. He should have studied more such cases and provided examples. A survey would have been good to get a superficial knowledge.