An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

The author tries to justify the need of promoting new variety of millet which is is high in vitamin A by government, by making a argument which seems to be fallacious and has many loopholes.

The author has not considered how many people have deficiency of vitamin A? If there are very few people having this type of deficiency then there is no need for government to make efforts to promote new variety of millet as it will not be feasible. The consequences of the deficiency of the vitamin A is also not mentioned? So if the consequences of deficiency of vitamin A is insignificant than this undermines the argument made by the author.

Suppose if the deficiency of vitamin A proves to be fatal than is there availability of funds for the government to subsidize the new variety of millet? If it is not feasible to subsidize the new variety of millet then this further undermines the argument made by the author.

Is the international organization reputed enough? is also not answered by the author in his/her argument. There is also no evidence provided for the effectiveness of the new variety of millet. Although the international department organization have engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A, does this organization has tested this millet on masses who deficiency of vitamin A and has it cured that deficiency from those masses.

The argument also makes a claim that millet is a staple food of people in Tagus. So, will the people buy which are used to buy regular variety of millet would be interested in buying new variety of millet as people in impoverished nation tend to be reactionary towards change? Introducing new variety of millet would be purchased by the people or not even after providing enough governmental support is also a bigger question that has to be addressed.

The author has not considered various factors such as amount of people having deficiency of vitamin A in the nation, the feasibility of subsidizing the new variety of millet by the government, the mindset of people to buy new variety of millet in his/her argument which makes the argument fallacious and should provide a suitable evidence and answer the above questions in his/her argument.