All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The above statement states that company should not hire consultants and should rather spend time with their own employees to discuss strategies to improve the functioning of the company which is not in accordance to my view as it is better to take a piece of opinion from the outsiders rather than its own employees.

As we all know consultants are professionals and have many clients for which they work and this experience would help them to provide suitable suggestions to the company so that company can operate and function more efficiently. Consultants would have faced the same issue from its previous clients and would have resolved that issue so if the same issue is faced by the company, consultants can provide ways to tackle those issues which would be beneficial for the company.

It is also a good thing to get a view from the outsider as they can properly judge the issue with unbiased mind and provide a solution that is beneficial for all employees of the company rather if the company would spend time taking suggestions from their own employees than it may happen that they will give biased suggestions that would be beneficial for them rather than company. For example if we consider Google who develops Android Version and to test those versions it uses what is called Beta Testing, in which outside users test those version and report some issues if they have faced with that Android Version, so they basically take a opinion from the outsiders who are not their employees to improve their product that is Android before its official deployment for the mass users.

Now some may argue that it is waste of money to hire a consultant and rather those amount of money could be devoted for some other work that would be beneficial for the company which is fallacious according to me as the suggestions that consultants provide would be useful for a long run and would provide long term benefits to the company so its a smart investment for long term benefits. And some may also argue that employee would be well aware of the company so they would provide tangible and concrete suggestions to improve the efficacy of the company which might not be the case always as employees decision can be biased thinking for their own benefits rather than the company benefits.

So as the consultants have more experience and deal with variegated clients and employees decision can be sometimes biased it would be more beneficial for companies to hire consultants to improve their functions and operations.