An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

While the actions of the international development organisations seems to be avoid the deficiency in vitamin A among the people of Tagus, there are some flaws in the argument of the organisation which will be highlighted in the forthcoming paragraphs.

The argument first says that the organisation has engineered a new brand of millet with more vitamin A content. However, it is an international organisation and hence may not have a proper idea of the lifestyle of the people of the country and their eating habits. Any experimentation based on the new variety of millet should ensure that the normal activity of the people shouldn't be affected for addressing the vitamin A deficiency problem among the people. For instance if the millet contains some other vitamin or minerals which aid their general activity and the new variety is lacking in these then it will result in drastic and unwanted changes in the lifestyle of the people in the country.

The argument states that even though the seeds of the new type of millet will cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. However, it also says that Tagus is an impoverished version so many farmers are poor and may not be able to afford these crops despite all the subsidies. One more problem is that these farmers would mostly be depending upon their harvest for survival and hence as a result may not be willing to take a risk by farming a new type of crop as they may result in failure too which would further result in more poverty due to crop failures. So, the farmers may not prefer the unknown crop as it could be dangerous for their harvest and instead might wish to go with the old millet crops itself.

The argument also says that the people will accept it because millet is the staple food in Tagus. However, with the price of the millet seeds itself is costly, the millet themselves will also be costly and most of the people in Tagus, who are suffering from poverty and are not educated on the benefits of vitamin A and the danger of vitamin deficiency may not buy these new varieties. Thus, the people of Tagus may not understand about the difference between the old and new varieties of millet and might end up buying the old variety itself which will mostly cost lesser than the new variety.So, the millet despite being staple food of Tagus might not be accepted by the people of the country easily. So even if the government of Tagus does everything to promote this new type of millet, unless the prices are low and the citizens are educated on the importance of vitamin A, the new variety of millet won't be accepted by the people of the country.

From the above explanations, it is clear that the argument despite being perfect in first glance has a lot of flaws in this which has to be rectified in order to address the problem of vitamin A deficiency among the people of Tagus.