People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

One of the key attributes for good decision making is that the person should be level headed and not heed to any of his personal feelings towards a particular choice. The person should take the best decision based on the various factors that are associated with the problem. So, the solution should be such that it best solves the problem or the issue that he/she is trying to solve. Hence i believe that people who make decisions just based on their emotions are poor decision makers even if they can justify the decisions with logic afterwards.

One main example for this is the people who are addicted to liquor and drugs. Most of the people who are addicted to liquor will try to justify their actions by saying that they are doing so for their happiness. However, in reality most of these people come from poor financial backgrounds and their family would be suffering from the lack of money. So spending so much on buying liquor is a criminal wastage of money when in reality you are in need of money for living in the first place. Similarly most of the people who are addicted to drugs are those who have suffered emotionally and it is their hurt feelings and their urge to forget their pasts and for their happiness that they turn to drugs. However, they don't realise that taking drugs is in no way going to reduce the emotions nor is it going to really help them forget their past. Instead, looking to rise up from the crisis situation and get success is a more worthier and an effective option to forget about their pasts.

One more scenario in which decisions made based on emotions could turn out to be bad mostly is in politics and national policies. The current US president managed to script an unexpected victory in the elections last year riding on the emotions of the unemployed people who felt that the foreigner are entering their country in huge numbers and as a result are taking away all the job opportunity that they feel is meant for them. However, acting based on just these emotions will result in the reduction in the average skills of the employees of most of the companies in the country as their brand value is reduced. Most of the companies hire foreign employees not just because they are satisfied with slightly lesser salary but also because they are more skilled than all their competitors including the native US people. Thus, when he introduced anti-immigration policies where the immigration process was made difficult thus reducing the number of immigrants as well as driving away few existing immigrants, the entire economy of the country got affected apart from damaging ties with few of it's closest allies and hence he had to back down and become slightly lenient with the immigration policies to mend the damage.

Terrorism is one of the major threats that exist in the world right now. The ISIS which is an Islamic terrorist organisation rose mainly because of all the crimes that have been committed against muslims in many of the countries. All the shocking and heinous murders and crimes performed by the organisation in the middle east is attributed to their emotions on people of their community suffering somewhere else in the world. While there are so many better ways to solve these issues without any violence, terrorism should not be employed even in the worst scenarios. There are so many human rights organisations which can deal with these more effectively. Thus, the terrorists most of them took to crime have done so because of their emotional decisions which has turned out to be disastrous to the entire world as well as the society in general.

It's true that emotions are a part of a person and hence however much we try to keep it away, it plays a role in the individual decisions. However, the decisions can't be based on just the emotions of the person and it should also lead to a proper result. The above examples clearly indicate that the decisions that are usually taken based on emotions alone will mostly turn out to be poor decisions.