"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

This prompt talks about a group of developers who are willing to take a business loan to build their own jazz club in Monroe. They speak about why should they be handed the loan to open their club. They give several reasons by pointing out that there is no other club nearby, there are several renowned jazz musicians who live in Monroe etc. However, this argument is filled with flaws and assumptions which would make it difficult for the developers to have their own club.

Firstly, the developers are confident that all the local public would go to their C-Note jazz music club. Their reason for this confidence is that the other nearest jazz club is 65 miles away. Distance should not be their only concern. Because if they are considering this then it may be the case that the residents of Monroe have been visiting that jazz club from a very long time. They might love it so much that they would not even look at other clubs. The developers should consider this point if they want better business for their club.

Moreover, the developers have not provided any details about C-Note. They should provide details such as its ambience and what kind of jazz musicians would be invited to play at the club. They have also not provided the location of the club. For instance, if the club is situated in an area which is not liked by the residents of Monroe or if the ambience of the club is not very good and is very dull then the residents would not be interested in going the club. If the developers are neglecting these possibilities than it would harm their club’s business.

Speaking about the annual jazz festival, there over 100,000 people who attended the festival. But it is nowhere mentioned that all these people are residents of Monroe. It can be that public from various parts of the globe attended this festival and very few of them were from Monroe. Furthermore, the developers state that many well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe and ‘Jazz Nightly’ which is the highest rated radio program airs every weekday at 7 pm. This does not mean that Monroe’s residents will go to the club just because they are interested in jazz music or because the radio program is very high-rated. They may only like listening to jazz music on radios and would want to go to clubs where different kind of music is played, for instance rock or electronic music.

Thus, the developers should consider all these possibilities if they seriously want to take a business loan and want to see their business succeed.