"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Work by, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply ultraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that in order to diminish the number of infections and diseases in hospitals, a liquid antibacterial hand soap should be used. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some well-established evidence should be given.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is the fact that use ultraclean soaps decrease the bacteria by 40 percent than the current hand soaps. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since there is no sufficient evidence to support if this ultraclean soap is able to prevent any infection or disease. One point that should be considered is that there is a wide range of bacteria all over the world. So, what if this soap prevent just some infection? What if it becomes useless in a reduction of certain bacteria in the hospital? Indeed there is not a solid evidence to prove the effectiveness of this solution.

The author also asserts that the hospital reported fewer infections while using ultraclean hand soaps. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects due to the paucity of evidence that would consolidate the premise the otherwise. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that this report could not be reliable and accurate owing to the fact that maybe the hospital just wanted to advertise the solution in order to make a profit by selling thousands of this soap. Moreover, what if this solution create some other diseases? Or what if some people be sensitive to this solution? These are ideas that weaken the usefulness of the solution in a reduction of bacteria.

Putting the two previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author this solution has been successful at the laboratory. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled evidence to support if results in the lab will be successful in the real world or can scientists put them in practice. One point that should not go unnoticed is that despite positive outcomes in the reduction of infections in the lab, there is no guarantee these results repeat exactly at the hospital. Indeed, there is a possibility that a weird conclusion is seen in the real world.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are pieces of evidence having been ignored by the author while the presence of which could add to the logic of each premise.