The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals.

"In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During a subsequent test of UltraClean at our hospital in Workby, that hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations throughout our hospital system."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo from the director, it is recommended to replace the current antibacterial liquid soaps with UltraClean hand soaps. The director has come to this conclusion based on the fact that a laboratory study promised that the UltraClean solution had a 40 percent higher reduction rate than the current liquid soaps. The memo also supported this claim by adding that the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection after using UltraClean solution at their hand washing stations. However before this recommendation is accepted, the following three questions must be answered.

To begin, was the drop in cases of infection at Workby hospital only because of the change in liquid soap at hand washing stations? It might be possible that there are other reasons for the reduction in infection cases. It may have been the case that, there was a spell of cold and rainy weather, due to which there was an uptick in infection cases prior to the study. But, when the weather became sunny, there was a drastic reduction in infection cases. Thus there is no conclusive evidence to support the claim that the drop was caused unconditionally only because of the hand soap.

Secondly, It is assumed that the trend that was seen at Workby hospital would apply similarly to all other hospitals. There is no consideration about the size of the hospitals, the number of patients they treat per day and the overall sanitation levels at each hospital. Thus, it might be the case that Workby hospital was a small one and therfore the reduction in cases was significant. But, for a large hospital, changing only the hand soap brand might not have such a huge effect.

Moreover, the efficacy of UltraClean cannot be accurately stated just on the basis on a single laboratory study. It is a common practice in scientific ventures to extensively test any new chemical and the effectiveness of that chemical is declared only after considering all factors. But, in UltraClean’s case, the director is suggesting to use it based on just a single laboratory study. Therefore, there is a need for further research into the properties of the UltraClean solution. After extensive research, we might some side effects that occur due to regular use of UltraClean. This would prove to be a reckless move as it would endanger the patient’s health, who ironically had come to the hospital in order to improve their health.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the director is able to answer the three question above and offer more evidence (preferably in the form of a research study), then it would be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation to supply UltraClean solution to all hospitals in the group.