"Last October the city of Belleville installed high-intensity lighting in its central business district, and vandalism there declined within a month. The city of Amburg has recently begun police patrols on bicycles in its business district, but the rate of vandalism there remains constant. We should install high-intensity lighting throughout Amburg, then, because doing so is a more effective way to combat crime. By reducing crime in this way, we can revitalize the declining neighborhoods in our city."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that install high-intensity lighting could diminish vandalism and rate of crimes dramatically and is more effective than police patrols control on bicycles. However, the premises upon which he puts his claim are fallacious. For the support of which some critical, yet ignored question need to be addressed.

The first assumption that lacks some semblance of truth and can be overtly impugned is the fact that by installing high-intensity lighting the vandalism could be diminished within a month. However, it does not lend credence to the argument since a question that might arise is whether installing such a technology could reduce crimes forever. One point that should be considered is that the author does not show any information about the intensity of vandalism and crimes and also just provide information during a month. Indeed, what if the number of crimes and vandalism increase during next months? As a matter of fact, it could not be taken for granted that decline in vandalism just during a month can represent the accuracy and reliability of high lighting.

The author also asserts that a new city starts its police patrols on bicycles in districts and the rate of crimes do not decrease. Although it might seem tenable at a face, it has some defects since you can ask this question if these police patrols are responsible for vandalism and crimes. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that maybe these police officers play a different role in the districts and are not responsible of vandalism or maybe they are assigned for other purposes, who knows? Alongside that, maybe these police patrols officers on bicycles are not adept enough to prevent vandalism. There is a possibility that they are not skilled enough to control and handle the situation. What if the number of vandalism and crime rate reduce after assigning experienced police officers?

Putting previous assumptions aside, there is still room for doubt. As set forth by the author by installing high-intensity lighting, the city could be revitalized and the neighborhood will flourish and thrive. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to an unsettled question if the main reason of flourishing a city is just reducing crimes. One point that should not go unnoticed is that a city needs many facilities and equipment in order to thrive and increase the neighborhood. Maybe neighborhoods of Amburg are declined due to the paucity of amenity and technological advancement. There is no doubt that crimes and vandalism are in every given society and could not be the major reason for the decline in neighborhoods.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that there are many questions, having been ignored by the author while the answer of which could add to the logic of each premise.