"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because online instruction takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased. Thus, to increase enrollment and solve the problem of budget deficits at Humana University, we should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni."

Author in the above argument states that to increase the enrollment of students as well as solve the problem of budget deficits in Humana University, it should initiate and actively promote online degree programs like other universities such as Omni University. He didn’t think through before making a posist about the university,

Firstly, he has mentioned that the students has started enrolling online into Omni University. He has effectively increased overall 50% of enrolled. Thus, increasing the income and less expenditure on infrastructure as more students are enrolled online. Author suggests to open online courses for Humana University to increase the number of admissions. He made a facile suggestion as the faculty of both the universities are different. Students might have attracted to the Omni University because of the teaching methods used by the professors in the University.

Secondly, he states that since online courses will start then we will have to make less investment on the classrooms, washrooms and other facilities. Again author has undermined the possibility that the infrastructure of two universities can be different. If the Humana university will not spend to make the university a better place to study, it might end up losing all the offline students registered in the University.

Moreover, the author has outshadowed the expenses because of the salary of teachers and other staff. Teachers might be overpaid at Humana University leading to more expenditure then the income, resulting into budget deficits.

Lastly, the opening up of online degree programs involves lots of investment which he has not considered while deciding the budget. In addition, the Human University might not be as good graded as the Omni university. University placements might be less in Humana that’s why more students are not enrolling. Therefore, other should have collected these information or statistics before making any assumptions.

Hence to sum up, I totally disagree with the author’s point of view. His statement to open online degree programs just because other universities are doing, is both irrelevant and vague. He didn’t provided enough statistics to compare the financial as well as the structural as well as the educational condition of the two universities. He made a hypothetical argument to solve the real problem faced by the university.