In the last year’s mayoral election in Town T, candidate Miller led candidate Keating by a substantial margin in the polls leading up to the election. At the last minute, candidate Keating launched a widely viewed series of television advertisements that focused on preserving the natural environment of Town T, a topic neglected by candidate Miller. Subsequently, candidate Keating won the election by a narrow margin. This year, if candidate Miller hopes to win the upcoming mayoral election, he must increase his coverage of the topic of preserving the natural environment of Town T.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The prompt above describes a mayoral election between Miller and Keating that Miller lost soon after a particular TV ad was run. From this, the author derives a conclusion about what Miller should do to win the election this year. In coming to this conclusion, the author makes a number of unfounded assumptions that undermine the validity of the argument. These assumptions are based on faulty comparisons— between candidates, topical issues, and other contextual elements—and a mistaking of correlation for causation. If the author wants to support his conclusion, he would need to provide evidence proving that these two elections are comparable, and that Miller’s loss can factually be attributed to its implied cause.

The first error made by the author is in implying that just because an issue was topically relevant during one election, it will necessarily be relevant during the next election. For all we know, the natural environment could have been a major issue in the previous election because of some climatic issue, such as saving a particular waterway or passing a specific law to protect local wetlands, that has since been resolved (during Keating’s mayoralty, for example, which would make logical sense given that he ran on a preservationist platform). If the author wants to make this connection, he would need to provide evidence that the natural environment remains a hot-button issue that could decide the election one way or another.

The next faulty assumption in the argument also involves a comparison, namely between Miller and whoever his opponent is. The prompt seems to imply that Miller will be going up against Keating again, but there’s no evidence to support this. This matters, because if Miller is running against a different candidate, then there’s no reason to believe a strategy that would have served him well against Keating would still be useful. For example, he could be running against a park ranger, who will always be able to beat him on issues relevant to the natural environment, in which case increasing his coverage of those issues would be a waste of time. To fix this assumption, the author would need to tell us definitively that Miller is running against Keating again (or a very similar candidate).

Another major assumption the argument makes is in deciding that the television ads Keating ran were the sole or even primary reason that Miller lost the first election. This is a causation/correlation error, in that we have no reason to believe the two things didn’t simply happen separately, rather than one causing the other. It’s just as likely that Miller committed some terrible faux pas near the end of the election, and that turned out to be more of a deciding factor than the television ads. The author needs to provide evidence that the primary impetus behind so many people changing their vote between the time of the polling showing Miller in the lead and Keating’s win was the television ads. It’s certainly plausible that Miller might fare better in the next election if he pays attention to a subject he is said to have neglected. However, we cannot know that for certain unless the author provides definitive evidence that the issue of environmental preservation is still in the forefront of constituents’ minds, that Miller and Keating are the two candidates in the next election, and that the television ads and the issue they underscored were the primary reason Miller lost his lead in the previous election.

With this information in place, the author’s conclusion becomes not just plausible, but convincing.