loyalty can be as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one

Loyalty is a very important trait of human beings. People often seek for loyalty in others throughout many situations of their lives. For instance, while choosing for a life partner, loyalty can be regarded as the most important trait to look for. Also, employer hire employees who seem to be loyal and not leave their company very soon. But, loyalty can be as detrimental as it is beneficial. Loyalty may force a person to take irrational decisions as it can cloud their judgements.

People should be loyal to their friends, not abandon them during tough times. But what if the friends are not worth the loyalty? What if the friends are into illicit activities? For instance, a person who is into drugs will surely be a bad influence on his friends. Being loyal to such a friend is can only bring hardships.

Additionally, loyalty in case of institutions can also be equally detrimental. What if the institution indulges in ignoble activities? People loyal to such an institution are forced to do immoral things that they themselves may not approve of. For example, an employee discovers that there are few people in the company who are embezzling money, yet he chooses not to report it as he is loyal to his colleagues and the company. Such an action may result in him getting fired later on. Thus, loyalty came at a cost of him losing his job.

In case of schools, a person may lose out on great opportunities if he remains loyal to his school as there may be other schools which are better than the current one. For instance, a boy lives in a village where the schooling options are not great. If he chooses to stay in the same school even if he is getting an opportunity to go to a better city school then he will be losing out on many things that the good school has to offer.

Thus, loyalty can be as detrimental an influence as it can be a beneficial one if the people you are being loyal to are headed on a wrong path, if the institutions you are being loyal to are corrupt.