Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions play an extremely important role in influencing the students’ career paths. It is a place where a student gets to explore various areas of the educational system. I would like to disagree with the statement as there is no specific way to measure the success of a person in any field. A conventional way to decide whether a student will succeed in a particular field is to see the average salary of the people employeed in that field. This method is flawed as it does not consider other factors of “success” except money. For instance, a wall street broker might earn millions of dollars but suffers from depression and fatigue due to his demanding job and a middle school teacher who earns a few hundreds of dollars is happy and satisfied with his job. Who is more successful? The definition of success varies on an individual basis. Hence, it would be wrong for the institutions to decide this.

Moreover, every field of study has people who are at the top and are earning very well and also those who are not earning much. For example, in India, Engineering field is regarded as one of the best fields to study and hence, India produces 1.5 million engineers annually for few hundred thousand of jobs. This has resulted in engineers working for a very low salary. As opposed to this, stand-up comedy, which is not even considered as a profession is thriving. Stand-up comedians are earning way more than engineers and yet no parent or educational institute wants a student to follow that profession.

Additionally, the educational institutions cannot predict the demand of any field because the fields which are considered as “good” ones may not remain the same in the next 50 years. For instance, in 1950s there was no demand for communication industry but with the rise of mobile phone and computers in the late 1990s, there was a huge requirement of people who studied in tele-communications field.

However, I do agree with the fact that some fields such as Social Science are low paying and do not offer much of job opportunities. And students might end up with high debts. But this can be true even for an MBA graduate who is unemployed with high loans. It is the skill of an individual that gets him the job rather than his field. Even plumbers and electricians earn very well if they are highly skilled.

The educational institutes should not try to dissuade the students from pursing the study of field in which they are unlikely to succeed as success is a vague term, it is not the same for every individual, everyone has their own opinion about success. Also, it is difficult to predict whether a student will succeed or not. Thus, the decision of pursuing any field of study should be based on the person’s interest and choice rather than that of the educational institute.