Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In today’s developing world, land is a very important resource for the development of a country. The wilderness has to be destroyed to get more land and thousands of acres of jungles, forests are being cut down to acquire land for further developmental projects. Conservation of the wilderness is a major concern and nations need to pass laws in order to preserve them. The following are the reasons why conservation of wilderness should be a major concern.

Firstly, wilderness is an integral part of the ecosystem. It provides us with many resources which are very valuable and cannot be replicated artificially. For instance, we get oxygen, gum, fruits and many other useful resources from the forest. Also, wilderness helps in preventing floods as the excess water is absorbed by which is not the case if we have “concrete jungles”. Additionally, it is a natural habitat of the wild animals. If the wild animals do not have a natural place to live, they will come to the cities in search of food which would pose an immediate danger to humans. Hence, destroying the wilderness would result in some serious threats to man kind.

Many people may argue that the land could be used for better purposes that would improve the economy of the nation and help in its development. For example, if we use the land to set up factories or commercial buildings, we will generate a lot of employment, many people will settle around such areas for work which would further lead to improvement in terms of public facilities such as transport, tele-communication etc. If these laws are implemented then, the growth of the economy would be a bit slower.

However, the laws that would be passed in order to preserve the wilderness at the cost of development would benefit man-kind in the long run. For instance, there would be cleaner air, lesser floods, more of forest resources and vegetation. Development cannot come at the cost of destroying our natural resources. The places where the wilderness was destroyed for development are facing serious issues. For example, Bejing’s air pollution. There are not enough trees to clean the polluted air and thousands of people are suffering from respiratory diseases due to the same reason. Hence, in order to prevent such incidents, nations should pass laws to preserve the natural wilderness.