"Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men

The author of the argument claims that more resourses should be invested inmanned space missions as manned space flights are costly and dangerous as well as unmanned space probes have recently, proven to be more successful. In order to justify the validity of this argument, more information is needed in regards to why unmanned space probes are more costly and dangerous and in what ways unmanned space probes can be more successful than manned space probes.

The author states that manned space flights are more expensive and dangerous, but fails to mention the reasons why they are dangerous and costly. Any space mission be it manned or unmanned, will always be extremely expensive for the government. A lot of planning and years of hard work of some of the best scientists of the world and the respective country are required for the space missions. Also, the satellites and space shuttles that are manufactured are extremely expensive as they require many components to be imported as well as certain precious metals and manufacturing techniques. So, space probes whether manned or unmanned are always going to be expensive. Morover, an unmanned space flight is eqully dangerous to a manned space flight. If while the launch, soemthings go wrong, the debris which fall back to the earth can cause mass destructions. Even if the launch is successful, there have been cases in the past in which the control stations have lost contact with the launched satellites and the mission has failed leading to a huge loss for the country. The author can bolster the argument by mentioning how much more expensive is an unmanned space flight from a manned space flight and compelling reasons and reports of unmanned space flights being more dangerous than manned space flights.

The argument specifies that some recent unmanned satellite and space probes have been successful. However, there are so many space events which need sending men and women into space. One such event is the international space stations which gather data be revolving around the earth. These space stations have scientists and astronauts from around the world who spend upto an entire year in space. The presence of men and woemn in space has also lead to some remarkable space discoeveries right from Neil Armstrong landing at the moon to many remarkable space walks by astronauts living in space stations.The author can strengthen the argument by giving exampls and reasons in which unmanned space probes are more successful than manned space probes.

All in all, as the argument is flawed because of many unwarranted claims, it fails to make a convincing case that more resources should be invested in unmanned space probes.