Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The passage infers a concern about the small possibility of people's death due to the inoculation process taken to control cow flu.

Since there is a possibility of people's death due to the inoculation process, there are other steps which could be taken to control epidemic like cow flu. The routine administration should rather be taken to identify the affected cows and destroy them. In this way, there won't be the necessity of inoculation process which is not fully safe. In the meantime, necessary experiments should be taken to make inoculation process safe for the people. This strengthens the argument inferred in the passage.

But if the people are already been subjected to the epidemic, then many lives might be in danger by not taking the inoculation process. Since the possibility of death due to the inoculation process is relatively very low, the process should be permitted to administer in this case to save the vast majority of the lives rather than considering the small possibility. This, on the other hand, indicates against the argument in the passage.

To conclude we can say that, depending on the situation and intensity of the epidemic, we can show evidences both in favor and against the argument.