Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument against inoculations appears to be astoundingly uninformed as it does not: Give an exact probability of a patient's death, define "routinely", provide other means of disease mitigation, give the opinions of the persons affected, or otherwise fully consider the utilitarian implications of the decision to not inoculate people.

If the argument gave an exact probability of a person dieing from inoculation as well as how frequently people would be inoculated and how many, then proper risk analysis could be performed. The probability can be multiplied by the frequency over a given period of time, such as a year, and then multiplied by the number of people to give an estimate of deaths per year. This can then be compared to the number of deaths anticipated due to the cow flu -- yet another piece of missing information. If there would be more deaths due to inoculation, then of course this would strengthen the argument. Otherwise, it would weaken it.

The argument furthermore does not give any alternatives to the solution of inoculations against cow flu. If it's determined that inoculations reduce the total deaths in a given area, then it is a reasonable solution, unless there is a safer alternative. Had a safer alternative been provided, it would have strengthened the argument. Or similarly, an alternative may exist that is no safer or more harmful but is at least in some way more efficient or agreeable to the affected people.

Another key fact missing is the collective opinion(s) of the people who may be affected by cow flu. If they think that inoculations are a good idea and are willing to participate, then knowing this would weaken the argument. Likewise, if people generally don't want to be inoculated, then this suggests inoculations would be impractical as people may resist them.

A final consideration: How much would it cost to routinely administer inoculations? Does the organization performing inoculations actually have the means to do it? The answers to these questions, if optimistic, would strengthen the argument, and otherwise they'd weaken it. It is obvious that the argument here is lacking a great deal of information. If the evidence pondered above were provided, then one could quite reasonably determine its true strength.