All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Though employees tend to know the ins and outs of their company's operations better than any outsider, it takes expertise in business economics and even industrial psychology to effectively utilize such information in the process of improving efficiency.

Any given employee can give details about a few individual issues in a company, but this information needs to be aggregated and handed over to an expert analyst who can then give sound advice on resolving these, sometimes in a more comprehensive manner than one might initially think. Most companies already have a means of collecting feedback from employees; this is often not enough by itself, though, even if the task of resolving issues is handed off to managers. Managers are typically not trained or educated to resolve company-wide inefficiencies, which tend to extend outside their scope of management. Furthermore, even if they have complete control over an issue, if it is a matter of industrial psychology, their knowledge is almost certain to be too limited. That is why such expert consultants exist. They can take the amount of time necessary to look over all the information that's been gathered -- time that most managers don't have. They can apply the tools they've learned just for this process of increasing operative efficiency -- tools that most managers don't have.

It is often the case that even when employees themselves think they know the solution to a problem, they actually don't. For example, a study was conducted where random persons where asked to taste two cakes. Each cake was actually identical, but persons were told one was more expensive than the other. After tasting, they were asked which tasted better. Despite the cakes actually being the same, people almost invariably said the more expensive cake tasted better. The point here is that people frequently fail to identify their own biases. There are piles more of evidence from studies like this suggesting that it can be very difficult to identify a solution to a given problem that is intimately tied to things like satisfaction, stress, or even social or physical comfort. As a result, industrial psychologists, being aware of this, offer a very clear, objective perspective on such matters. They can offer solutions that actually address the underlying problems in a given work environment. Another example is that psychologists found painting the inside walls of a building pink make people more calm. That coudl be useful to some compai

It is apparent to anyone who has worked pretty much anywhere for an extended time that companies have inefficient practices. Often, what is not truly apparent is how to resolve these into more efficient practices. To this end, there exist various experts offering consultation services which are actually needed to cut through the noise and see with fresh, well-informed eyes how to approach these problems.