Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The statement given is generally vague in details and requires a deeper understanding of cow flu statistics in order to have an educated decision executed. first, the statement reads "Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flue were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected". To me, this sentence doesn't hold any weight because of the word "might" as well as the vagueness of the phrase "Many lives". Also, the statement claims that there is a small possibility of a person dying as a result of the inoculation. A more definitive statistic regarding the probability of a person dying because of the cow flu inoculation is much needed.

The statement that lives "might" be saved generally holds no weight and can't be considered until specific information is received. Suppose that we receive information stating that administering cow flu inoculations will save 20% of all lives in the affected area. This statistic obviously makes a stronger case for the inoculations to be administered in the affected area. The lower the percentage falls makes the statement weaker and is thus not as likely to be carried out.

Now, we also need more information regarding the possibility of people dying from receiving a cow flu inoculation. In general, the larger the percentage of people that die from an inoculation the weaker the statement. This then makes the statement stronger as long as the percentage of deaths is trending lower.

Looking at the issue more closely, there is one specific comparison will help to make the best decision. This comparison is the percentage of lives saved over the percentage of lives lost. The inoculations should be carried out if and only if the percentage of lives saved is greater than the percentage of lives lost. For example, if inoculations kill 15% of the local population but save 16% it is beneficial to carry out the inoculations. Conversely, if inoculations kill 15% and save only 14% it is not beneficial to administer the cow flu inoculations.

In summary, we found that the statement was excluding important statistics about the effect inoculations have on the local population. Specifically it is vital to know the percentage of lives saved and lives lost from the cow flu inoculations. In general as the percentage of lives saved increases, the statement is strengthened and weakened otherwise. The percentage of lives saved to lives lost is thus inversely related and thus the statement is strengthened when the percentage of lives lost is decreased. From this we can then see that ratio of lives saved to lives lost becomes important. As long as the percentage of lives saved is greater than the percentage of lives lost the statement is strengthened, and weakened otherwise.