All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The provided statement does not take into account the numerous factors that play a role in hiring and consulting decisions. Companies often hire outside consultants to perform work that internal employees are incapable of performing, either due to technical abilities or security protocols. Often in engineering, it is unlikely to have an employee that will know how to optimize tasks and that service can only be found with an outside consultant.

Ideally, the statement holds true as long as their employees know what is best for the company. Assuming that internal employees are just as competent as consultants would eliminate the need for consultants altogether. Companies are then able to successfully eliminate bottlenecks and improve efficiency with company operations without the help of an outside consultants.

I also believe that it is important to consider why it is that companies tend to go with outside consultants for certain optimization problems. Typically, employees are hired on to perform a specific role regardless of type of work whether or be technical or non-technical. This makes it harder for employees to take a step-back and examine problems efficiently on a higher-level when all they have been trained to do is focus on specific aspects of the company. Contrarily, outside consultants have devoted their life to analyzing a specific issue, in this case optimizing efficiency, and are well-renowned in that specific field. A large majority of outside consultants tend to hold doctorate degrees and far outrank internal employees academic credential.

Also, the human resources department with companies are given the task of deciding whether to go with an outside consultant or internal employee for a project. Statistics will tell you that most of the time it tends to be more efficient to go with a consultant for important projects. While the company is paying more money for a specialist, the solution will often be found in a shorter amount of time and with better results for the company.

Ultimately, the statement proposed is one that I tend to disagree with. Whether employees believe it or not, companies do spend a lot of time listening to their employees. If they believed that the internal employees were capable of generating an efficient solution for the company they would not hire a consultant. The main assumption in the statement that internal employees are as competent as outside consultants is easy to pass-over. This consideration is what allows me to disagree with the statement, noting that the work output of a consultant may be much better than an internal employee.