Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that inocculations against cow flu could save the lives of many, however this advantage is offset by the fact that there is a risk of death associated with this vaccine and therefore the vaccine cannot be routinely administered. The evidence required to support this claim should evaluate the risk of death from the cow flu and compare that with the risk of death from the cow flu vaccine. Such evidence would include risk factors putting pateints at a greater chance of death from the vaccine, population demographics, hygeine practices in areas where the disease is detected, population density in such areas and the effects of herd immunity.

Essentially, in order to support this argument, the evidence must suggest that the overall risk of death for the populaiton from the vaccine is similar or greater than that of death from contracting cow flu. The most basic method to create this comparison is to compare the death rates from the innoculation to the chances of contracting and dying from the cow flu. However, such evidence is inadequate as each area affected by this disease may have different contraction rates for the disease and different mortality rates for both the vaccine and the disease due to different risk factors. For example, an area with a low population density may have a lower mortality rate from the disease itself relative to an area of high population density due to the fact that the virus is more easily spread in an area of high population density. However, the risk of death from the vaccine is the same for both areas. In this case, the risk of death from the vaccine may be too great in areas of low population denisty relative to the odds of contracting and dying from the cow flu; however, in a high population density area this risk may be lower than the risk of contracting and dying from cow flu and the vaccine would be deemed worthwhile.

Hygeine practies and demographics of the area also play a role. If certain races, ethnicities, or age groups are at higher risk of reacting negatively to vaccine, dying form cow flu, or both, these factors must be considered. Also the general cleanliness of the population in certain areas, whether this due to hygeine practices of people themselves or the sanitation systems present in the area must also be considered.

Overall, this argument is difficult to defend or refute as the circumstances vary between locations where the cow flu is detected, making it difficult to validate the claim that the vaccine's risk of death will be universally greater than or equal to the risk of death from cow flu. Had the argument included the idea that the vaccine cannot be permited in certain areas due to the relative high risk of death, then the evidence obtained may support it. However, in this case, the evidence will likely weaken the arguemt that the routine admisitration of the vaccine should not be permitted in all areas.