All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with these statements and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statements might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Consultants have become a very popular tool for outside organizations to turn when looking for ways to improve their organizations efficiency, employee satisfaction, and profits. In terms of efficiency, the belief that companies would be better off listening to their employees than outsourcing the issue to consultants is only true to a certain extent; to maximize effiecieny, companies should consult both outside agencies and the feedback from their own employees to develop newer and better solutions.

When it comes to larger companies especially, it becomes difficult for outside consultants to understand the tasks the employees of the company must undertake and the difficulties and issues that arise from them. For example, if an organization operates through an organized network of regions and districts, consultants cannot get an adequate idea of the issues hindering efficiency in the organization due to the fact that these issues may vary from one region to the next due to the quality and style of the management of each region; this makes it hard to discern whether an arising issue is due to poor management on behalf of the regional directors or the corporation itself and thus an appropriate solution is not likely to be discovered. In this case, along with many others, the corporation could send out a survey to employees in which the employees seperately evaluate the management quality of the corporate entity and that of the regional administration. This technique would clearly indicate what areas need to be improved and could suggest small but effective solutions to increase the efficiency of the corporation on a small and large scale.

Although employees are a valuable resource to consult, they alone cannot provide completely adequate solutions to the corporation's inefficiencies. The solutions employees may suggest will usuall be simple such as switching from one brand of product to another of higher quality in order to reduce long term costs and speed of operation, however their suggestions cannot cure the ailments of the issues of a corporate bureacracy. In this area consultants can help streamline certain business tasks and eliminate 'red tape'. Most employees are unaware of such issues as they either do not interact with this asepct of the organization or they simply do not have the professional insight to forsee problems and create solutions to fix them. Outside consultants can then help a corporation improve efficiency beyond the suggestions of its employees leading to a greater overall improvement.

To claim that the feedback of employees is of more value than the opinion of outside consultants, or vice versa, in terms of improving the efficiency of the corporation is not valid. Both employees and consultants play a curcial role in improving the efficiency of the organization and only when both roles are considered can a corporation obtain adequate solutions and achieve near-maximum efficiency.