Many lives might be saved if inoculations against cow flu were routinely administered to all people in areas where the disease is detected. However, since there is a small possibility that a person will die as a result of the inoculations, we cannot permit inoculations against cow flu to be routinely administered.

Inoculations are important in order to ensure the health of a population by preventing the spread of infectious diseases, such as the flu. The primary premise of inoculation is based off the concept of herd immunity, in which having a certain proportion of an entire population be immune to a certain disease can result in the disease dying out. In other words, you do not need to immunize an entire population in order to cause a disease (such as the cow flu) to die out. As a result, there is a lot of scientific premise in order to evaluate whether or not to inoculate a given population for the cow flu.

The strongest evidence one can utilize to evaluate the impact of inoculating a population for cow flu is scientific reports, which can come from a wide variety of sources. Such sources can include epidemiological reports that can analyze the impact that the potential vaccine may have in a given population, clinical trials, which may look at any side effects of the potential vaccine as well as present safe limits on vaccine dosage for individuals. The primary benefit for using these pieces of literature is the fact science is highly dependent on having large amounts of data related to the potential vaccine. On the other hand, using the vast away of scientific literature does contain its own set of issues. For one, biases in epidemiological and scientific studies are subject to biases, which can affect conclusions that different reports can make on the impact of the vaccine. The methods that were used to execute the study may not necessarily be generalizable for the population of interest (i.e. the population with a high prevalence of cow flu). However, it is important to note, that especially if a study is reproduced and the association between a vaccine and death is studied multiple times, the issues that scientific reports may inherently present can be mitigated, which would strengthen the evidence for administering (or not administering) the potential vaccine against cow flu.

Another piece of evidence that may be of potential use is the collection of personal anecdotes and qualitative research, which scientific reports may not necessarily capture. This piece of evidence can go both ways, however. On the one hand, these anecdotes may share experiences of how inoculation against cow flu has benefited individuals themselves. On the other hand, such anecdotes, especially the ones that discuss death caused by the inoculation, can strengthen the action of not administering the inoculation to the population of interest. Furthermore, the biggest weight that this piece of evidence can provide, even if it may not necessarily be based on huge amounts of data and studies, is the influence these anecdotes can have on public opinion, as that public opinion can pressure those in power to make that decision whether or not to administer the inoculation against cow flu or not, especially given the fact there is that possibility of death caused by the administration of the inoculation.

The claims that these two pieces of evidence can provide can influence decisions to administer the inoculation among the population or not. Thus, it is important to conduct a cost-benefit analysis with all potential pieces of evidence. On the one hand, scientific and epidemiological reports on the efficiency of the vaccine (among other things) are objective and are based off of huge amounts of data that can help influence public health intervention. On the other hand, personal anecdotes are subjective and put a human face to the issue at hand, which can sway the public to take on certain opinions, and subsequently, influence the decisions to implement the inoculation against cow flu in that population. Utilizing both pieces of evidence (as well as any others) ensures that the decision to inoculate a population against cow flu are valid, especially considering the risk of death that can occur with the inoculation.