All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

Consultants are necessary in order for companies to run as efficiently as possible. Although the input of employees in how companies function is important, completely relying on the input of employees may not be in the best interest of the company.

Consultants play the role of being outside observers for a company. Observations made by consultants are objective, in which they do not take into consideration any emotions, biases, or opinions that employees may have towards the company. The role of the consultant is solely towards the company they are assigned to, and thus, consultants are able to afford to spend time and energy in order to conduct analyses on the company's practices. In other words, they function solely for the interests of the company. In addition, assuming that that the work that consultants do is ethical, there is no need to worry about any conflict of interests or mis-handlings in the work that consultants do for their assigned company. Thus, if a company does have any malpractices or ways in which they can improve, the suggestions that the consultants make are valid and can have a positive outcome for the company.

It is important, however, that despite the fact consultants play an important role in improving company outcomes, we must take into consideration the role that employees have when trying to improve company practices. Employees function as the lifeline of a company and can also have the interests of the company in mind. Employees, especially those who have been working at these companies for a long time, are incredibly knowledgeable of the company's practices. Thus, their input is valuable, as the solutions that employees can offer can be tailored to how the company functions and the company's current practices.

On the other hand, we must note the potential impact that solely relying on the input of employees can have on the company. For one, employees are subject to bias, especially if the mis-handlings of the company can personally affect the employees themselves. For one, any vendettas or personal issues employees have on the company itself will affect the kinds of solutions they offer to improve the company. Although this may not be a bad thing, we must take this impact into consideration. Secondly, employees may not be as knowledgeable of some of the operations of the company. Employees typically play one or a few functions to help a company operate, and so, the scope of knowledge employees may have on company operations may be very limited. As a result, the input that they may have on improving company operations may not be as effective as they could potentially be.

The role of consultants, similar to employees, is to work with the interests of the company in mind. Improvements in the company's operations and practices are important to ensure not only the health and well being of the company's employees, but also improve the finances of the company as a whole. While employee input is important in improving how a company functions, the biases that employees may inherently contain may not work in the interests of the company. Thus, the input of outside consultants is necessary and should be used in conjunction with employee input in order to improve the efficiency of a company's operations.