As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The newly developing technology is shaping the world in a dramatic way. The trends of implications and affects, the technology is making are quite game changing. The author asserts the notion that technology brings deterioration in the human's ability to think and work properly is not agreeable to much extent. However, it might impact a segment of individuals that are relying on it or abusing it.

Techonology can be used to remove the menial tasks from our day to day lives and provide more time for the human being to channalize his/her cognitive abilities to a better function. As human beings are known for their intelligence and problem solving approach, one can focus on the more compelling questions and collectively contribute the development of ourself or a group. For instance, the works that are repeatative and menial do not require people to be sparing their time, rather the machines can perform these jobs better than us. Take the case of a packaging a material at a factory instead of involving tens of people to do the job which might not even be as homogenous as one would expect, a machine with a little program will do the job much faster and with uniformity. This ensures the people to perform more meaningful jobs like working on the programming of the machines or discussions to improve the production capability of the supply chain. This would significantly ensure the congnitive abilities of the people intact with machines by their sides to free up some time for these recurring activities.

It would also make sense if the calculations and data storage capabilities of the machines are relied upon rather than the human beings as with the advancement in technology machines can handle much much advanced calculations and store large quantities of data. Nowadays, everything is becoming IoT as we require require monitoring and access of every device at the tip of our hands. With this IoT revolution, there has been a large amount of data collection. Take an example of a car company like Tesla, it is data dependent company, for every mile the car rides significant amout of data is collect from the LIDAR, RADAR, GPS systems to accustom the rider and provide autonomous car-driving experience. While large chunks of data is being collected it is majorly meaningless without someone to clean and crunch the data. That's where humans role come into play, we can let the technology handle the storage of this huge amount of data and we can work on making sense of this collected data for it to be useful and can be applied to the car's input on further rides. From the above case presented we can clearly see that the technology can make our lives easier to harness our true potential by focusing our attention to where it belongs.

In conclusion, we can make the best and worst use of the technology based on the actions one performs with it, remember it is created by us only to make our lives easier and better but it depends on the usage of an individual to abuse or make better use of it. For example, an excessive usage of the calculator might hamper the person's ability to respond to the minor mental calculus which could have been done easily.