The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the passage proposes an interesting argument regarding whether to enact restrictions on Maple county housing or not. However, this argument definitely requires more accurate and eligible reasons and thoughts. Its reasons have some deficiencies, which will be elaborated upon hereunder.

First of all, the argument assumes a similarity among Maple county and Pine county, while there is no further evidence to correctly compare these counties. For example, if we had information about the counties’ demography or industrial situations, we could determine the rate of analogy among these regions. If one city is more and densely populated or contains some significant companies, it is more likely to experience a rise in the price of housing in the area due to put more restrictions on the county developments.

Furthermore, the writer does not consider the change of time in the comparison among the three counties. Many things may have enormously changed in the last fifteen years. Maybe fifteen years ago, when the housing prices in Pine county rose, it was a national phenomenon that was not limited to the county itself. Therefore, the restrictions did not have such a great impact on the prices. Likewise, it is even possible that when the housing prices did not significantly rise in Chestnut county ten years ago, it was because of the recession that was widespread almost all over the world. As a result, the housing restrictions did not play a substantial role.

In conclusion, regarding all the aspects of this matter, we can see that we need more detailed information in order to make a decision regarding preventing Maple county from more development. It is crystal clear that the argument does not justify any action.