“Monarch Books should open a cafe in its store to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened a cafe. Monarch, which has been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer following because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Opening the cafe would clearly attract more customers. The cafe would require relatively little space. Space could be made for the cafe by discontinuing the children’s book section, which will likely become less popular given that the last national census indicated a significant decline in the percent of the population who are under age ten.”

The argument claims that opening a cafe in its store would attract more customers for Monarch Books. The reasoning for this recommendation is based on several facts: a large customer base, the decline in the percentage of population under age ten by the national census, and a competitor's (Regal Books) strategy for opening a new cafe. Stated this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated.

First, the author states that a recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. This line of reasoning is seriously flawed because it does not provide any statistical data. How much percentage of the total population lives in the area nearby Monarch Books? How much of this population is under age ten? It is entirely possible that the children under age ten are significantly higher in the area around Monarch Books. Perhaps the decline in the overall percentage of the population under age ten could be because of the decline in some other parts of the country.

Second, the argument's proposition that opening a cafe by discontinuing the children's book section, would attract more customers seems unconvincing without any evidence for the same. The questions that need to be answered are: Is it not likely that the popularity of Monarch Books is mainly because of the children's book section? Though the argument mentions that the book store is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects, it does not provide any data regarding the preference of the customers. What if most people buy a book or rent a book and read at home instead of at the book store? Is there any other famous cafe nearby book store? Also, it does not provide any evidence to substantiate this causation relation.

Lastly, the author tries to justify the recommendation by mentioning the competitor - Regal Books, which opened its own cafe recently. What is the impact of this new strategy on Regal Books? Even if it helped them to attract more customers, one cannot ascertain that doing the same would work for Monarch Books as well. Where are the Regal Books located? Is it close enough to compare the customers and their preferences with that of the Monarch Books? If this is not the case, it undermines this justification for the recommendation.

In sum, the argument cannot be evaluated fairly unless all these questions are answered and relevant evidence is provided for the facts mentioned. Without this data, the argument is flawed, and therefore unconvincing. It could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned: (1) the population percentage for children under the age of ten in the area nearby Monarch Books, (2) customers' preference, or the reason for popularity, (3) evidence to substantiate the reasoning that opening a cafe would attract more customers, and (4) data about Regal Books after opening its own cafe, its location and results of adopting this new strategy.